mypinterestadventure

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Toasted Ravioli June 22, 2012

Filed under: Food — mypinterestadventure @ 2:41 am

So, it’s been a while…  I was out of town this past weekend, and I was working a softball camp earlier this week, so I’ve been a little busy.  However, that still hasn’t stopped me to try at least one thing new off of Pinterest!  This week I found a pin with toasted ravioli.  As usual I did substitute some ingredients because of what I had in my pantry.  I’m also not big on frying stuff, but I was just in the mood for something really cheesy and yummy, and this sounded so good!

Ok, so here is what you need:

2 tablespoons whole milk (I didn’t have whole milk, so I used 2%)
1 egg
3/4 cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs (I didn’t have Italian seasoned bread crumbs, so I”ll explain what I did below)
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
salt & pepper to taste
1/2 (25 ounce) package frozen cheese ravioli, thawed
2 cups vegetable oil for frying
1 tablespoon grated Parmesan cheese
Marinara sauce for dipping

Since I didn’t have italian seasoned bread crumbs I created my own.  I read somewhere that 4 pieces of bread is equal to 1 cup of bread crumbs.  So, I took 3 pieces of bread and crumbled them up and added some italian seasoning.  It worked out pretty well.  My bread crumbs just weren’t as fine as the crumbs used in the recipe.  This made it a little tougher when applying the crumbs to the ravioli, but it still worked.

First I mixed the breadcrumbs and most of the dry ingredients (garlic powder, basil, thyme, salt, and pepper) in a bowl.  In a seperate bowl I mixed the milk and egg,

   here are my breadcrumbs         here is the mixture

Next you just dip a piece of ravioli in the egg/milk and then cover it with the bread crumb mixture.  I had to kind of press the breadcrumbs against the ravioli to make it stick a little better where my breadcrumbs were made out of fresh bread.  I just kept this up until I used all of my mixture, which was about half of the bag of ravioli.

 here is the ravioli before frying

To prepare to cook, I took a skillet and filled it about 1 1/2 inches deep with cooking oil and heated it on medium heat.  I knew the oil was ready when I put some breadcrumbs in it and it browned.  Once the oil is heated place ravioli in skillet.  Let it cook for one minute, then flip.  Cook for one more minute, then remove.  I placed the finished ravioli on a plate with a paper towel on it so the ravioli could kind of drain the extra oil.

 I kind of got a system going.  Once I got going this was pretty easy.

Once finished I sprinkled Parmesan cheese over them, and served with marinara sauce.

  Here they are!  The breading looks different than the pin because of the breadcrumbs.

The verdict?  YUMMY!  Satisfied our need for something crunchy and cheesy!  I would make this again, especially for an appetizer.  They were good.

 

Leave a Reply

