mypinterestadventure

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Crab Rangoon June 10, 2012

Filed under: Food,Uncategorized — mypinterestadventure @ 1:06 am

Okay, so I LOVE crab rangoon, and I was a little hesistant on trying this “pin” out because I’m actually rather picky about crab rangoon, but I thought what the heck!  I again made a few substitutions based on what I had in my house and what I like.  Here is a link to the recipe.  It calls for:  4 ounces cream cheese, 1/3 cup mayonnaise, 1 clove garlic, minced or a few dashes of granulated garlic,2 green onions, sliced, 6 ounces good crab meat, and 30 mini Fillo cup shells.

I actually used minced garlic from my spices collection, so about a 1/4 tsp is equivalent to 1 clove/   I’m not a big onions fan and I didn’t have green onion, so I used about 1/4 cup of minced onion (again from my spice collection).  I could only find an 8 ounce package of crab meat, and I would guess I used about 6 1/2 or 7 ounces of it.  I figured if I used extra then oh well…  I also only had 15 Fillo cup shells, so when I filled them they were rather full.

Image

So, you mix the first 4 ingredients together until smooth and add in the crab meat. Then fill each Fillo Cup. Since I only had 15 cups I REALLY filled them, and had a little extra left over, but not much.  Once you’ve filled the Fillo cups bake in 400 degree oven for 7 minutes.

                                                                                                         

Here are the 4 main ingredients.                Here is everything mixed together.                                      Here is the mixture in the Fillo Cups.

Here they are out of the oven, hot and ready to serve!

It also called to serve with duck sauce.  Again, I’m not a big fan, so I used Sweet and Sour Sauce. 

So, I’m sure you’re wondering what the verdict was.  I got a, “well these are pretty good” from Glenn, and then he preceded to eat most of them.  Lol!  I thought they were good.  Not quite as sweet as what you would get at a restaurant, but the sweet and sour sauce helped that.  These would be a nice party finger food.

Pinterest

 

Leave a Reply

